What does the state of Florida require me to carry as far as car insurance?
According to theFloridaDepartment of Motor Vehicles’;
“Florida’s no-fault insurance law requires vehicle owners to carry at least $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL). All licensed insurance companies electronically report to DHSMV when policies providing PIP coverage are cancelled or taken out, so most of the time, owners do not need to notify the Department at all.”
Aren’t the state requirements “full coverage”?
No. There is no legal requirement to carry the, very important, coverage for Bodily Injury Liability or Under Insured or Uninsured Motorist coverage (for more information on this please see our post about UM coverage).
How do I get fully covered on my car insurance?
There are a range of options which can be added to insurance policies that will better protect you, your friends, family, and assets.
How can talking to an attorney help me with my auto insurance?
An attorney can review and explain the coverages of your current policy, and offer input on other optional available coverages. Furthermore, and attorney can advise you as to where you would be most vulnerable if you were to be in an accident.
Having the highest level of insurance coverage means; I can’t be sued personally. Right?
Wrong. If you carry any amount of coverage, and losses exceed these, you could be personally liable for further expenses. Consulting with an attorney is the best way to see where you are vulnerable. Come meet us before you need us! Rooney & Rooney, P.A.